Chocolate Brownies

Gooey, fudgy and oh so delicious! Brownies have a special place in my heart. There’s something very friendly and cheerful about it. It can be an ice-breaker and a conversation starter. Whenever I’ve told people that I bake, they’ve usually asked me if I bake brownies. Luckily for me, I learnt how to make brownies way back in college.

Food Science Practicals (just a fancy term for cooking class) was conducted every Monday morning at 8. We would stand next to our bench, groggy eyed, hoping for something interesting to cook. What could be more interesting than knowing that I would finally learn to make what I love to eat? It had to be brownies!

That day was beautiful. As if everything had slowed down. The eggs were cracked perfectly, flour sieved effortlessly, butter blended with the sugar gorgeously. As soon as the liquid ingredients hit the cocoa, it looked so glossy! The rich, dark chocolate colour glistened with every stirring action. I could keep stirring forvever. I was so mesmerized by how beautiful it looked. After popping the baking tray in the oven, I waited patiently for the brownies to bake. I knew I had to give it time to work its magic. Give it time to allow all the ingredients to work its magic. The end result was as perfect as it could be for a newbie like me. Rich and gooey brownies were ready to be eaten.

After that day, I baked brownies often at home. When I had to attend house warming parties, birthday parties etc. I would gift them a batch of fresh brownies. It is the perfect gift, trust me. The receivers have never been disappointed. EVERYBODY LOVES BROWNIES!

Here is a recipe that I follow to make them. It’s very simple and without any icing because they don’t need any. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

Cocoa – ¾ cup

Margarine – ⅔ cup softened

Castor sugar – 2 cups

Maida – 1⅓ cup

Baking soda – ½ tsp

Salt – ¼ tsp

Eggs – 2 nos.

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Boiling water – ½ cup

Walnuts – 1 cup chopped (optional)

Method:

  1. Pre heat the oven to 180°C. Grease a baking dish and dust it with flour. Keep aside.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together cocoa and baking soda.
  3. Then add half the amount of softened margarine and boiling water. Keep stirring until the mixture thickens and blends well.
  4. Add the castor sugar, eggs and remaining margarine. Keep stirring.
  5. Add maida, vanilla and salt. Add walnuts if needed. Blend it well.
  6. Pour the batter carefully into the greased dish.  Bake it for about 35 to 40 minutes or until its done.
  7. Allow it to cool completely before cutting them into squares.
Leave a Reply

