Pan Fried Pork Chops with Potato Corn Side Dish

It’s been almost a year now since I started eating pork. I really love how it can take up all the lovely flavors and become so juicy. You need to understand that cooking pork is a little tricky. You don’t want it to overcook and become all rubbery. Keep it a little rare and pink in the centre. It’s amazingly juicy then.

Recently, I cooked some pork chops with a potato side dish. It was my first time cooking pork so I was really nervous. The first two chops were well done. The second, third and fourth was perfect. The last one was a little on the rare side. Oh so juicy! If you see the ingredient list, you might think it’s a complicated recipe. But, it really isn’t. Trust me.

So, here you have it.

Pan Fried Pork Chops with Potatoes & Corn

Ingredients:

Pork chops – 5 nos. with bone and without skin

For the marinade –

Basil – 40 g

Onion – 1 large cut in four

Garlic – 10 cloves

Green chilies – 4 to 5 nos.

Worcestershire sauce – 1½  tsp.

Soya sauce – 2 tsp

Vinegar – 2 tsp

Pepper corn – 6 to 7

Cloves – 3

Cinnamon – 1 inch stick

Olive Oil – 6 tbsp.

Salt – to taste

For Potato Corn side dish –

Onions – 2 nos. sliced

Garlic – 3 cloves finely chopped

Baby potatoes – 150 g  peeled and boiled

Corn – 50 g boiled

Parsley – 3 tbsp chopped finely

Basil – 4 to 5 leaves

Balsamic vinegar – 2 tbsp.

Salt and pepper – to taste

Butter – 1 tbsp

 

Olive Oil – for cooking

 

Method:

  1. Wash the pork chops and keep it aside in a clean, large bowl. In a pan, dry roast the pepper corn, cloves and cinnamon. Roast it for a couple of minutes to release all the flavours. Grind them to a fine powder to use in the marinade.
  2. In a blender, add the basil, onion, garlic and all other ingredients. Add in the spice powder and blend it to a nice paste. Keep tasting to check seasoning.
  3. Marinate the pork chops with this basil mixture. Make sure the pork chops are properly coated with it. Cover the bowl with cling film and keep it in the fridge. I kept it for an hour but you can keep it for a couple of hours if you like. The meat can absorb more flavour.
  4. While the marinated pork is in the fridge, in a frying pan, add a little olive oil and butter. When the butter has melted, add the torn basil leaves and let it release its entire flavor into the butter. You will get lovely basil flavoured butter.
  5. Throw in the chopped garlic and sliced onions and let the onions caramelize. Once the onions have cooked, add the potatoes and the corn.
  6. Toss it for a minute and splash in some balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. Throw in the chopped parsley and mix it well. Let it cook for 2 more minutes and the side dish is ready.
  7. To cook the pork chops, in a hot frying pan add some olive oil. The pan should be really hot because you want to get a nice sear on the pork.
  8. Once the pan is ready, carefully place the pork chop on the pan. You should hear a sizzling sound. Cook it on medium heat for 6 to 10 minutes on each side. You should get a lovely brown sear on both the sides. When you cut into the meat, the centre should be nice and pink.
  9. Alternatively, you could cook the pork on a barbeque grill.
  10. Serve the pork chop with the potato corn side dish. Enjoy!

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. The wine with it your mind would be ??

  2. CJS says:

    I know what I am going to be cooking this weekend, your pan friend pork chops. I love pork….. I have had one of the best chili pork dishes in Mysore in a resturant called Top Stuff (a fav amongst students down there) apart from the several other pork dishes from around the world. I have one question though, shouldn’t the pork be well cooked inorder to make sure the dredded cestodes don’t not make it into our system, do you know at what temperature thay are distroyed. …. just my paranoia.

    1. Anisha says:

      As per my knowledge, you need to cook the meat in minimum 160 degrees F in order to make it safe to eat. I marinated the pork for about an hour and kept it in the fridge. Later, I cooked it on high heat for 20 minutes. This is safe. Don’t worry 🙂
      If you still have your doubts then I suggest cooking it in the oven. This way it will need to be in the oven for longer (20 – 30 minutes) on 170 degrees C.

      1. CJS says:

        Thanks for the feedback

        Hey can you give me feedback on 2 recipes (actually 3) that I put in my blog (just got started) would really appreciate it http://thecookingenthusiast.wordpress.com/

        Regards

      2. Anisha says:

        I checked out your blog. Really like the stuff you are making. One thing that caught my attention was the poached fish recipe. I would suggest cooking it in a water bath (Sous-vide). You can add lots of flavour in it that way. Put the fish in the air tight bag and add some nice butter and a few herbs in it. Experiment with it. 🙂
        I have one other feedback, work on the look of your website. Add nice big pictures, customize your blog theme. I constantly try to make my blog look better. See how it goes. 🙂

      3. CJS says:

        Anisha, thank you for the quick response and feedback.

        I have to try the Sous-vide technique which means I can exercise my DIY skills to build this contraption 😉

        About the look and feel I completely agree, I am so rusty with my web development skills, this will give me an opportunity to update them :). On that note did you customize the free template provided by WordPress?

      4. Anisha says:

        This is actually one of the theme options. Take some time and explore it. You can customize your own theme too.

  3. Siddharth says:

    Hi Anisha, quick question since you’re also in Mumbai. Where did you source the pork chops from? Are they the store bought frozen variety or fresh from a butcher’s? Cos I can’t seem to find any of the latter in the city.

    1. Anisha says:

      Hi Siddharth,
      I got the pork chops from a butcher in Bandra. It was fresh and really affordable. It’s near Chapel Road. See if you can find it there.

Leave a Reply

