Pink Ombre Cake with Chocolate Glaze

I am a Pinterest addict! I can browse through the numerous pins on the website for hours. Many people might disagree with me but, it is a treasure cove for people like me. I look for food inspiration everywhere. It could be an adaptation of an existing dish or something extravagant. I need innovative food on my plate.

Recently, I came across a pin on Pinterest which showcased a beautiful layer cake. It looked absolutely perfect; it was a work of art. Click here to see what I’m talking about.

I really wanted to adapt this cake into my own version. So, when my boyfriend called me and asked me to bake a cake for his mom’s birthday, I knew what to do. A lovely layer cake with chocolate glaze was the way to go.

I started off with a simple vanilla cake recipe. The recipe originally had cocoa powder, but I just left that part out completely. The batter is so simple to make. Just mix everything into one bowl. That’s it!

I really recommend buying a multi-purpose measuring cup. This one cup shows grams, milliliters, cups, oz etc. This helped me a lot as I didn’t have to get my weighing scale out at all. It’s really cheap and easily available at Crawford Market.

Before you start making the batter, make sure you get all your ingredients out of the fridge and bring it up to room temperature. This is a very important step. So, here is the recipe…

Pink Ombre Cake with Chocolate Glaze

Ingredients:

For the cake –

Castor Sugar – 4 cups

Flour – 3½ cups

Baking powder – 2 tbsp

Salt – 2 tsp

Eggs – 4 nos.

Milk – 2 cups

Vegetable oil – 1 cup

Vanilla Essence – 4 tsps

Boiling water – 1½ cup

Rose red food colour – 1 small bottle

Dark rum – 60 ml

Crushed toasted hazelnuts – For garnish

For the chocolate glaze –

Cocoa powder – 1 cup

Butter – 1 cup, softened

Castor Sugar – 5 cups

Milk – ¾  cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius.
  • Grease a 9-inch round cake tin with butter and keep it aside.
  • In a large mixing bowl, add sifted flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  • Add the eggs and milk and mix well using an electric mixer on low.
  • Slowly add the vegetable oil, vanilla essence and boiling water to this. It should form a nice and smooth batter.
  • When the batter is well combined, separate the batter equally in 4 different bowls. For me, each bowl contained 2½ cups of batter.
  • When you have divided the batter equally, leave one bowl as it is. Add the rose red food colour to each bowl gradually to get different shades of pink. I added 2 tsps to one bowl, 1 tsp to the second and ¼ tsp to the third. The fourth one was left as it is.

  • Fold the batter using different spoons and keep it ready for baking.
  • If your oven is big enough to accommodate 4 9-inch tins then bake them together. I had to one cake tin and a small oven. So, I baked one cake at a time.
  • Each cake should take about 30 to 40 minutes to bake. Check if the cake is baked using a fork or a toothpick. Poke it in the centre of the cake. If it comes out clean then it is done.
  • While the cake is baking, you can prepare the chocolate glaze.
  • In a large bowl, sift the cocoa and add the butter and castor sugar gradually to it. Mix well using an electric mixer.
  • Add the milk slowly to adjust the consistency. My glaze was a little runny as I added a little extra milk. Add the vanilla essence in the end and keep it aside for later.
  • After your 4 cakes are cooked, make sure you cool them completely on a wire rack. If you glaze them while they’re hot, the glaze will heat up and melt completely.
  • Once your cakes are cooled, it’s time to stack them.
  • Trim the tops of the cake a little to make them even. You don’t want a leaning tower of Pisa, do you?
  • Take the white cake layer and place it on your surface. Moisten it with little rum and add a couple of tbsps of the glaze. Spread evenly.
  • Add the lightest pink layer on top of this and repeat the process. In the end, you would want the cake to look the lightest to darkest from bottom to top.
  • Once the entire cake is stacked, carefully glaze the sides of the cake too using either a spatula or a spoon.
  • When the entire cake is glazed, clean the base ad garnish the cake with hazelnuts like shown in the picture.

  • Refrigerate the cake for about 45 minutes so that the glaze sets properly.

The end result was quite beautiful. The cake was moist and echoed of rum. The hazelnuts added a nice crunchy texture to it too. The layers were distinct and vibrant. I was really hoping for that. When I posted the pictures of the batter and the end result on Twitter, I got some interesting replies…

My boyfriend had something to say too….

Overall, this was a fun experiment. I am looking forward to more challenges in the future. I love to see everyone happy with what I make. You can try it to with different colours, icing or flavours. Good luck!

Note: Photos courtesy @SmokingsKills

2 Comments Add yours

  1. swatisapna says:

    I’m yet to get hooked on to Pinterest… I’m slow that way, when it comes to social networking 😛 Just discovering twitter is more than just ransom one-liners, lol! coz i found so many food bloggers like me thanks to it 🙂
    missed the burrp foodie meet coz of work, but hopefully will catch up with you all next time!
    The cake looks absolutely divine, by the way…

    1. Anisha says:

      Thanks! We shall meet up soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

