Mushroom Brown Rice with Lime

Those of you who know me and have been following me on Twitter might know that I moved into a new house with a flatmate. It’s a cute little two bedroom flat with a nice big kitchen. Unfortunately, we did not have a gas connection so we ended up eating out every single day.  It does not sound very exciting because it really hurts when you calculate how much you’ve actually spent on eating out two times a day for a little over a month. During these trying times, some people in my life helped us a lot by sending home food, taking us out for dinner etc. Thank you, kind people.

So now we finally got a gas connection and I have started cooking at home again! Today’s recipe is a quick lunch recipe. You can make this in the morning, just like I did, and it is absolutely no fuss. It’s healthy, flavourful and makes me really happy because of the olive oil I used to finish it off.

Frescobaldi Laudemio Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Tuscany
Frescobaldi Laudemio Extra Virgin Olive Oil from Tuscany

Frescobaldi Laudemio is a beautiful olive oil from Tuscany. This was a gift to me from my very dear friend David Rocco. He said, “Good olive oil is like bread… the fresher the better.” This olive oil is emerald green in colour and has a very complex flavour. Try sourcing it from abroad because this is not available here. Never use this to cook. Always use it to finish off any dish with a little drizzle and that’s exactly what I did.

So here is the recipe for my Mushroom Brown Rice with Lime.

Mushroom Brown Rice with lime
Mushroom Brown Rice with Lime

Ingredients:

Brown Rice – 1¼  cup

Water – to cook rice

Mushrooms – 2 cups, sliced

Onion – 1 large, sliced

Chicken or vegetable stock cube – 2

Chilli powder – 2 tsp

Jeera powder – 1 tsp

Light olive oil – to cook

Good quality olive oil to garnish (I used the Frescobaldi)

Lime wedges

 

Method:

Boil water and add the brown rice straight into it. Allow it to cook which should take about 15 minutes. Brown rice takes longer than white rice to cook. Once cooked, drain out the water using a sieve and collect the remainder water. You can use this water to make stock to use in the future.

Set the rice aside and start working on the mushrooms. In a frying pan, add a couple of teaspoons of light olive oil and sauté the onions. Once they turn translucent, add the mushrooms and chicken or vegetable stock cube. Stir and add the chilli powder and jeera powder. The stock cube already has salt in it so check for seasoning. Add more if needed. Once the mushrooms are cooked, take it off the heat.

In your lunch box, first add the rice and then pile up the sautéed mushrooms.  Drizzle the delicious olive oil and serve with lime. Buon appetito!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Michelle says:

    A quick and perfect récipe for people Who are always on the move…. Looking forward to trying this out.. 🙂

  2. Desiree says:

    Oh, I love Laudemio olive oil so much! I think it’s one of the best things I’ve ever tasted!

  3. Mad says:

    Hi, where can I find Laudemio olive oil? There is a website that I can check?

    1. Anisha says:

      Well, David got this for me from Canada. Try sourcing it from abroad. I’ve never seen this in India.

  4. Mad says:

    Hi Anisha,
    I googled it and I found a website and also a Facebook page of Laudemio olive oil!
    I asked directly to them and they told me that in India we can find Laudemio here:

    BERKMANN WINE CELLARS INDIA PTV.LT
    102, HIRANI VILLA
    45 NEHRU ROAD, VILE PARLE (EAST)
    MUMBAI 400 057 INDIA

    I thought that maybe you could be interested! 🙂
    Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

