The blueFROG, Lower Parel

blueFROG is one of my favourite places in Bombay. I love the space, the vibe, the staff, and the food. But eating that this swanky venue always seemed difficult because of how expensive it was. Despite its price issue, blueFROG food is loved by many. After carefully observing their customers and understanding what they thought of the food, they team has come up with a new menu. What’s great about the new menu?

  1. New dishes added
  2. Retained house favourites
  3. Longer non-veg appetizers list
  4. Prices slashed without affecting the portion size
  5. 50% off during lunch hours (11.30 AM to 3 PM) and happy hours (6.30 PM to 8.30 PM)

Sounds great, right?

So let’s get down to business. I visited blueFROG one rainy afternoon and tried out some of their food. blueFROG looks so different in the day! So please take a moment and soak in the beauty of the space.

bluefrog 2 bluefrog 3 bluefrog 4

Keeping in mind the club crowd, they have an extended list of small bites to go with the alcohol. It’s not fussy, and is simply delicious and wholesome. You can easily eat them standing at the bar or stop off at your table to grab a bite when you’re on the dance floor. Here’s what I thought about the food I tried here.

Dolmas

Dolmas
Dolmas

I had tried them in Dubai a few years ago. They are vine leaves stuffed with different kinds of fillings. Here they stuff it with cheesy rice. It’s a delightful Turkish dish served cold with fresh tzatziki and hummus. I’m glad I can get my dolmas fix in this city now.

Home-style Cheeseballs

Home-style Cheeseballs
Home-style Cheeseballs

Who doesn’t love cheeseballs? But don’t think that these will make the kind you make in your home. These cheeseballs are stuffed with chilli jam and as a dip with will find just enough of herbed yellow pepper coulis under it.  Crunchy on the outside and fluffy inside – perfect!

Crusted Sambal Prawns

Sambal Prawns
Sambal Prawns

Instead of your regular fried prawns, these guys have taken beautiful seawater prawns to a whole new level by marinating them in sambal. After marinating them in spicy sambal, they’ve used cornflakes to give it a super crunchy exterior. I’m sure the crunch sound travels across the table. Go easy on the sweet & sour chillie sauce if you can’t handle too much spice. But, this is the kind of spice everyone likes.

 

Tandoori Chicken Sloppy Joe Bites

Tandoori Chicken Sloppy Joe Bites
Tandoori Chicken Sloppy Joe Bites

The chef told me that they had taken this dish off the menu some time back but after the public raised a hue and cry, they had to bring it back. I’m not complaining!  It’s filling, really sloppy and has got a lot of flavour. The frog barbecue sauce is what makes it extra special.

 

Tortellini

DSC_0255

I wasn’t very impressed with this dish after trying the delicious appetizers. The pasta was leathery and lacked bold flavours. I didn’t quite understand the sour dough crisps either.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Sweet Potato Gnocchi
Sweet Potato Gnocchi

Stodgy and lacks flavour. The gnocchi needed some freshness and the olive tapenade wasn’t the solution. I would give this a miss next time.

Braised Lamb Shanks with Saffron Risotto

Braised Lamb Shanks with Saffron Risotto
Braised Lamb Shanks with Saffron Risotto

I loved the bold, meaty flavours of this dish. Instead of serving it with plain old mashed potatoes, they made an Indian-style saffron risotto (read: overcooked to suit the Indian palette)  with peas and tomato.  The meat is tender and falls off the bone. Don’t bother using a carving knife. Your fork would suffice. The orange zest and dill garnish is very well thought.

Chicken and Cheese Lasagne

Chicken Lasagne
Chicken Lasagne

The lasagne is cooked perfectly and the tomato sauce is tart to the tee. It really helps cut the richness from the béchamel. Next time i order this, I might ask for an extra ladle of tomato sauce.

I never thought of trying any desserts here ever so I was really curios to know what they have to offer. Out of the 11 desserts, I was glad I tried probably the best one.

Silky Smooth Chocolate Cake

Now when I ordered it, I thought I’ll get a rich cake with oodles of “silky smooth” ganache. Instead I was pleasantly surprised by what was presented to me.

Silky Smooth Chocolate Cake
Silky Smooth Chocolate Cake

Do not think that this is dense and gelatinous. It’s quite the opposite. The cake is light and airy and tantalises your taste buds. I could have eaten another one; it was THAT light! You must try this cake when you’re at the blueFROG next.

My experience at the Frog was delightful and they are a very friendly lot. After visiting this place several times over two years, I am glad I sampled their food. With such great offers on food now, I’m sure I will visit them more often just for the food.

Address:
The blueFROG
D-2 Matahuradas Compound,
Senapati Bapat Marg, Lower Parel,
Mumbai.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

