Bombay Salad Co, Bandra

Bombay Salad Co. Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

I’ve always been a fan of salads as a whole meal. However the salad scene was quite pitiful as only a handful of restaurants actually poured in their heart and soul into the salad section of their menu. To get my salad fix I depend on Suzette, Cheval, or Kala Ghoda Café but now I have a new place to satisfy my salad cravings – Bombay Salad Co.

Yes, I crave a good salad some time. I just want a few fresh ingredients tossed together in a simple dressing. With the kind of greens now available in the market, I make some at home too. Right now I’ve stashed away my apron to put Bombay Salad on speed dial and starred its location to maps to share with friends.

Hipster (Kale, quinoa, orange, cranberries, carrots, pomegranate, mixed seeds, ricotta - orange carrot vinaigrette)
Hipster
(Kale, quinoa, orange, cranberries, carrots, pomegranate, mixed seeds, ricotta – orange carrot vinaigrette)

Started by Karishma Dalal a.k.a @kurried in association with MKG Hospitality, Bombay Salad is a café serving delicious salads (starting Rs.165 for vegetarian and Rs.205 for non-vegetarian), wraps & sandwiches (starting Rs.225), and soups. In beverages they have a limited selection of teas and a whole lot of fresh fruits and smoothies (starting Rs.155). Everything made here is fresh without any additives. I went to Bombay Salad for the first time for my First Look at TimesCity but since then I’ve visited and ordered from here a bunch of times to tell you my favourites.

The Pehelwan (Roquette, chicken tikks, cucumber, onions, olives, parmesan, basil, cherry tomatoes, croutons - red wine vinaigrette)
The Pehelwan
(Roquette, chicken tikka, cucumber, onions, olives, parmesan, basil, cherry tomatoes, croutons – red wine vinaigrette)

Karishma’s stint at Suzette and Barrio has honed her skills to make Bombay Salad into an envious spot in the neighbourhood. The tiny café is full most of the time and phone ringing off the hook with orders for home delivery. She is a stickler for perfection and open to feedback. So if you have any doubts or suggestions, please feel free to speak with her about it.

The Goan (Mixed lettuce, fava beans, goan pork chorizo, grilled zucchini, peppers, tomato, bocconcini - rosemary balsamic vinaigrette)
The Goan
(Mixed lettuce, fava beans, goan pork chorizo, grilled zucchini, peppers, tomato, bocconcini – rosemary balsamic vinaigrette)
Red Samurai (Mix lettuce, soba noodles, teriyaki chicken, grilled peppers, peanuts - spicy soy ginger dressing)
Red Samurai
(Mix lettuce, soba noodles, teriyaki chicken, grilled peppers, peanuts – spicy soy ginger dressing)

Coming back to food, the salads are available in two sizes. You can either choose one of the salads on the menu or prepare your own. Personally, I found it a bit daunting to make my own salad with SO MANY OPTIONS. With a well thought out menu already up there, I always go with it. Till now I’ve gone through the entire non-vegetarian section of the salad menu and slowly making my way through the vegetarian one.

The Mexican Salad (Roquette, mixed lettuce, prawns, jalapeno, avocado, cucumber, cherry tomato, sweet corn, paprika, popcorn - lemon mint vinaigrette)
The Mexican Salad
(Roquette, mixed lettuce, prawns, jalapeno, avocado, cucumber, cherry tomato, sweet corn, paprika, popcorn – lemon mint vinaigrette)
The Upstream (Spinach, roquette, smoked salmon, boiled egg, mixed seeds, onions, cherry tomatoes - dijon thyme vinaigrette)
The Upstream
(Spinach, roquette, smoked salmon, boiled egg, mixed seeds, onions, cherry tomatoes – dijon thyme vinaigrette)

Bombay Salad has given clean eating a great start with delicious flavours and crazy combinations (popcorn in salad?) which makes me want to go there often. Now please excuse me while I pack my things and make a call for The Red Samurai.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This place is absolutely stunning. Heard so many rave reviews. Have to make my way there soooon

    1. Anisha says:

      You must! All the pictures posted are of salads I’ve tried. Take your pick. If you try something else, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

