Top 7 Things To Do In Singapore

So Singapore celebrated its 50 years of independence last week and the jubilee weekend was spent with great firework shows, shopping deals, eating out and pretty much having fun. Since my visit to Singapore, I’ve gone through all my pictures a hundred times, shared previously unpublished pictures, and just reminisced about my wonderful trip. It started off with a great flight with Singapore Airlines where I got access to their lounge and premium service. In case you’re planning to visit Singapore, I suggest you check Singapore Tourism Board’s official website YourSingapore to get details on various activities, and tips on things to do. They frequently update their site with deals (like the SG50 deal I took advantage of) and festivals.

So here are my top seven moments/ activities to do in Singapore that I recommend to anyone visiting the city.

Hawker Centres
IMG_20150415_223542 (1)
Singapore is a food hub and while you’re there, you must venture out to as many food courts as possible. Chicken Rice, seafood, noodles, Laksa, Bak Kut Teh (pork rib soup), Congee and all other awesome things. I was there for four days and barely covered 10% of the food available there. I plan on visiting again next year to explore more.

To read more on various hawker centres and what to try there, read my post on hawker centres in Singapore.

Cooking Class at Cookery Magic
IMG_20150416_181420I love to cook so learning a new dish excites me to no end. Cookery Magic is Ruqxana’s baby where she conducts private cooking lessons for travelers. Her home is located on Neil Street and has a gorgeous outdoor kitchen big enough to have nine cooking stations. Instead of boring demo classes where all you do is take notes, at Cookery Magic you cook the dish and get your hands dirty (sort of). Chilli Crab, Pepper Crab, Onde Onde, Laksa and many such dishes can be learnt here.

To know more about my experience at Cookery Magic, read my post.

Beer Shopping
IMG_20150419_235054
Singapore has a few microbreweries where you can drink and purchase bottled craft beer. Brewerkz, Red Dot, Level33, Beerfest etc. are some places to check out for a good pint. One night after my dinner at PS. Café, I decided to pick up a few pints of beer from Brewerkz. Unfortunately the newest law in Singapore does not allow alcohol sale post 10.30 pm. So plan accordingly. However, it came as a blessing in disguise because the next day I went to The Thirsty Craft Beer Shop and found a huge collection of international craft beers. They are online retailers of craft beers in Singapore with four store fronts. I got 6 pints of beers for $48 at their TBB, Seng Poh Road outlet.

Ya Kun Kaya
IMG_20150419_103000
My last breakfast in Singapore was at Ya Kun Kaya where I had the traditional kaya toast with tea. I’m not much of a breakfast person but I woke up extra early to be awake enough to try this dish everyone was telling me about. It’s a poached egg dish served with toast sweet coconut spread (kaya). It’s a flavor bomb with sweet-savoury flavours that’s unlike anything I’ve had before.

To know more about Ya  Kun Kaya, read my post.

Bar hop on Club Street

Club Street
If you find yourself in Singapore on a Friday or Saturday night, make sure to head to Club Street at Ann Siang Hill. Grab dinner at Lolla restaurant to dine on tapas style dishes. Their signature Sea Urchin Pudding and Hokkaido Scallop Carpaccio are two dishes that you must try. Say hello to Nick when you see her there. She is super sweet, explains every dish beautifully and takes care of you. Chef Kyle Henderson is a genius and makes even tripe taste good. Once you’re done with your dinner, head out to the various bars in the neighbourhood and grab a table outside. Every Friday and Saturday night, the street is blocked off to allow only pedestrians. The bars set up tables outside, on the street which creates a wonderful party vibe. Oxwell & Co, Nutmeg & Clove, Operation Dagger are some cool bars to check out.

To read more about my favourite bars on Club Street, click here.

Tea at Tea Chapter
IMG_20150417_173857Here’s a place where you can spend a few hours drinking various Chinese teas and read a book or have a conversation with a few friends. Tea Chapter is a lovely, old tea house near Chinatown. It opened in 1989 and has served Queen Elizabeth during her tour in Singapore back then. Tea Chapter retails teas and tea pots at the ground level so make sure you check it out on your way out.

Read more about my visit to Tea Chapter by clicking here.

Universal Studio
IMG_20150418_144644Spend a day at Universal Studios and definitely (I cannot stress enough on how much) sit on the Transformers Ride. It’s a total amazeballs 4D simulator ride that’ll blow your mind. Their Battlestar Galactica ride is now open so it’s a roller coaster ride worth checking out. There is a Malaysian Food Court at Universal Studio where you must try the Penang Assam Laksa and Chendol there.

To read more about entry to Universal Studios, check out my post.

Le me know in comments if there’s anything that one must do in Singapore. It’ll be of great use for next trip there.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sehar A. says:

    wow! thanks for sharing! i thoroughly enjoyed your post! =]
    singapore is on my list of places to visit and this post really added some ideas to my list!

    Also, please do check out my food-review blog too with posts which you may find interesting at https://eatandtell1.wordpress.com/ =]
    & follow me on Facebook too https://www.facebook.com/eatandtell001
    Bon Appetit! =]

    1. Anisha says:

      Hey Sehar,

      I’m so glad you liked it. I hope you have a great time when you visit Singapore. I’ll check out your blog soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

